Global warming

<< < (2/4) > >>

Benjammin (January 18, 2011, 07:44:05 AM):
I first saw the game theory argument in a youtube video, produced by a science teacher. Lots of people have made similar arguments.

My main point is the graphical one of % scientists. I am not an expert on climate, I trust the scientists who have spent their life studying this. They say we should be get below 350 ppm, the idea behind Bill Mckibben's 350.org project.
Brian (January 18, 2011, 08:04:34 AM):
Is it true that cattle fart produces more methane and CO2 than all the vehicles on the planet?

http://jas.fass.org/cgi/content/short/73/8/2483
http://www.un.org/apps/news/story.asp?newsID=20772&CR1=warning

http://www.fao.org/WAIRDOCS/LEAD/X6116E/x6116e02.htm#b6-2.6%20Total%20Methane%20Emissions%20from%20Livestock
says inter alia:

Exhibit 26 summarizes the estimates of total methane emissions from livestock by region and production system. Total emissions are estimated at about 78.5 million tons. The pattern of emissions across regions and production systems is very similar to the pattern for enteric fermentation emissions because manure facility emissions are relatively small. As shown in the exhibit, Asia, OECD, and Central and South America have the largest emissions, accounting for about 58 million tons of emissions, or nearly 75 percent of the total. As a group, the mixed farming, rainfed production systems have the largest emissions, accounting for about 40 million tons, or 50 percent of total emissions.

The reports contradict each other depending who's done the research (vested interests). Has this been confirmed/rejected?
BoogieMonster (January 18, 2011, 16:52:29 PM):
Livestock farming is a human invention, and we do breed them en-masse for our consumption, hence we are still the source of that CO2 (I realize you probably didn't imply that we were not responsible, but being clear) and methane.